cover of the book " The Armageddon File"

Read an Excerpt

Watch an Interview

Preorder the Book:

Coming November 6, 2017


Was the last election stolen?

            And if so—who did the stealing—and why?

            The answer lies in the cryptic “Armageddon File.”

            But that file is deadly.

            National bestselling author Stephen Coonts is a master thriller writer—Flight of the Intruder, Liberty’s Last Stand—at the top of his game in The Armageddon File, a story ripped from the nation’s headlines.  CIA Director Jake Grafton and Tommy Carmellini race to discover who might have attempted—or succeeded—to steal the last presidential election.

            A string of dead bodies, rigged voting machines, and a conspiracy that seems to lead in divergent directions—from the uppermost reaches of the FBI to foreign powers, from high finance to organized crime—are only part of this gripping story of cross and double-cross that leads to a shattering climax.

Jake Grafton Series


The Jake Grafton Series

These ten novels take Jake Grafton from a young Navy attack pilot flying A-6s during the Vietnam War (Flight of the Intruder) to two-star admiral working with the CIA (Liberty). These novels introduced millions of people around the world to carrier aviation and the modern American military. Although some people like to read them in the order in which they were written, they are all stand-alone novels; you can pick any one and dive into Jake’s world. He isn’t brilliant, has no great insight into the problems of our times, but he has common sense and always tries to do the right thing, regardless of the personal consequences. He’s a hero for our time.

Browse This Series

Tommy Carmellini Series  

The Tommy Carmellini Series

Tommy Carmellini, ace CIA burglar, first appeared in the Jake Grafton novel Cuba as a minor character. He appeared in all subsequent Grafton tales. Coonts liked him a lot, so he promoted Tommy to stardom in Liars and Thieves. In subsequent stories, The Traitor, The Assassin, and The Disciple, Tommy shared center stage with Jake Grafton. The team is together again in Pirate Alley, published in April, 2013.

Browse This Series

Deep Black Series  

The Deep Black Series

The Deep Black series of co-written novels came about because Coonts couldn’t write quickly enough to fill the demand for his works. If you like fingernail-biting suspense and rock ‘em, sock ‘em action, you’ll love this series about a covert CIA team that fights bad guys all over the globe. Fans of this series say the books are best read in order. Coonts disputes that, since the books were carefully crafted as stand-alone novels. The first eight books in this series were original paperbacks. The ninth was first published in hardcover, then paperback.

Browse This Series

Other Works  

Other Works

This category includes all of Coonts’ miscellaneous scribbles, from the classic Cannibal Queen to his three Saucer tales, including Saucer: Savage Planet which was published April 1, 2014; five anthologies; and a novel written under a pen name, The Garden of Eden by Eve Adams. You ought to get a gander of Steve in a size 14 dress with shaved legs, his outfit when appearing at Eve Adams signings. It’s an extraordinary experience. You'll also want to check out The Sea Witch, three unforgettable tales of men and women at war. 

Browse Other Works

Browse All Books